Black Women Bashing

You may or may not remember one of my first blog post about Black Men Bashing, if not please CLICK HERE to view it. The reason why I bring this up is because after I posted that blog post I received a comment saying:

“Now that we’ve talked about black men bashing. Let’s talk about the major black women bashing going on by not only black men but other races, male and female. They’re all bashing us and there’s no one behind us but God.”

I saw this and instantly told the person I would take the time and write a blog post about the bashing Black women experience, so here we go on the long ride to explain Black women bashing. We will go over where it comes from, why it keeps happening, and how to put an end to it. So lets start by asking the simple question, and slowly work our way up to answering it and understanding the answer.  Who is doing this Black Woman Bashing?

There is no denying that the media has a big influence on what people will think about other people. The television and computer are some of the most used objects by people all around the world, and what people see will cause them to think a way. For example if I were to show multiple little girls playing with Dolls on the television, if people keep seeing little girls playing with dolls people will assume that all little girls play with dolls. Even though it might not be a fact the masses of people will think all little girls play with dolls, not just those girls on the television.  So with that theory it makes sense that people believe Black women are low class, ignorant, sexual, people who are just not enjoyable to be around, it’s just what the masses see Thanks to the Media.

I personally think that a huge influence that a lot of people can’t deny happens is how Black women present themselves. There is no denying that with every box of apples there will always be those few rotten ones. on how people will look at a group of people is how they see the group of people behave. There is no denying that there are people who do live up to the stereotypes that are pinned on Black females, I can think of a few Black women in my every day life who are perfect stereotypes. Though the thing is I find the media tends to make it appear there are more of this negative Black women in the world over the Positive ones. I can honestly say I know more Black females that are highly intelligent, respectful, and positive role models for people of all races. The thing that I’ve noticed is people tend to pay more attention to these negative role models, and the positive women are very rarely given any attention.

Another MAJOR influence is what other people are saying, words have so much power and often people do not realize it. The reason why these words have power is because often people will give into what they say and hold them for truth. The best example of this is stereotypes, if Bobby told David that Asian guys are often shy with no social life chances are if David and Bobby are close friends David might just believe that. Then David will tell Sally that Asian guys are super shy and don’t have lives, and Sally might just say “You know what! That’s true! I have a friend who is Asian and he barely talks in class, and he always goes straight home to play the violin.” Then word passes on and on, and that’s where stereotypes come from. Someone saw one person or a group of people had a common trait and they think all those people have that same trait. Same goes for negative things, if someone sees one loud Black female they will complain and people will start to believe all Black females are loud.

So now I am sure people who aren’t paying attention to Black women bashing are wondering, what in the world is being said to start such rage? How exactly are black women being degraded? What exactly is being said?

“Red Bone Girls are Better Than Those Dark Skinned Heffas”


If you are in the Black Community or pay attention to what happens in the Black Community you most likely know about the war against the Dark Skinned Women and the Light Skinned women. I would first like to state this has to be the most stupid war I have EVER heard of, and a complete waste of time. If any women who feed into this war are reading I would like to say, if a KKK member sees a Light skinned woman and a Dark skinned woman she/he will attack both of them. At the end of the day you are both black woman, so shut up and lets focus on something more important.  The history of this War starts with slavery, as a lot of you may or may not know Black people were conditioned to hate themselves.  The best example is how the Slave Masters would treat the lighter skinned slaves better than the darker skinned slaves, the Light skin slaves would be house slaves and would have better chances of having better food and education. Now the conditioning that is going on is the huge lack of darker skinned women on the television, and when there are dark skinned women they are often portrayed in a negative way.

“Black Women are Loud, Low Class, and Unruly.”

It appears that there is a stereotype out that all Black women are loud, low class, and unruly in the Media. You see this all the time, just think back at black women like: Medea, New York,  and Nicki Minaj just to name a few. Medea is known for being a loud, low class, unruly black woman who does give pieces of wisdom (though I think they can often be over shadowed by how 80% of the time she behaves like a fool). New York (Tiffany) was known from the show “Flava of Love” and then she had two spin off shows, and in all three of those shows she was portrayed as a woman who was low class, loud, fake, unruly, and easy.  Nicki Minaj is a female rapper who is known for her multiple different personalities, and how she is such a “great female rapper”. She is often portrayed as fake, sexual, loud, and low class. It’s not surprising with such famous Black female characters that Black females are looked down upon. But I can name multiple Black women who have nothing but class, yet for some reason people see them as women who “Act White” or acceptations to the normal Black person.

“Black females are so fake. They never wear their real hair, and look at their bodies they were just meant for sex.”

All the time I get request from guys of other races for me to “Shake my ass” or to “Show my butt”, and I honestly thing it’s offensive. I will first start by saying I do not have a huge butt, I actually have a rather flat one….So these requests are just plan ignorant to me, and that’s really all stereotypes are plan ignorance from people when you think they apply to all people of that race. I mean sure Black women tend to be brought into this world with more curves, but come on people don’t expect every black woman you meet to be born with a huge badonkiedonk. That is like thinking every single white person you meet with have blonde hair and blue eyes, it’s an unreal ignorant thought. Another one that I know a lot of my females friends deal with the the whole “Nice wig!” or “Is that a weave?” problem. For some reason when people think of Weaves and wigs they think only Black women wear them when in reality there are a lot of women from other races who wear them also, and might I add “White people” started wearing them before anyone else. I can also understand the annoyance that my female friends who are naturals or do not have a wear get when people say all the time that the hair on our head is not our own.

So now we are left with another question:

How come when white people act Ghetto they can get away with it, and don’t get such a negative title. It just applies to what type of European they are, for example Jersey Shore just makes it like Italians from Jersey act like that. As where if Jamaicans were on Jersey shore they would think that is how every single black person acts. It seems unfair right? I can understand there are a lot of black women who live up to the horrible stereotypes out there, but what I can’t come to grips with is why do we get more so of a back lash? How come went J Wow acts a fool she is just the on bad apple out of a case of good apples, yet when Saheela Ibraheem gets accepted to six different top universities at the age of 15 she is just a good apple out of a case of rotten apples.

So this is where I put on my reporter hat, Sherlock Holmes Trench coat, and rant over to interview people in hopes that they could give me insight on why things are this way. Out of many of the people that I asked this question to, I think one really stood out and mad even me even think.

When fellow Blogger Ranier Falco (Click to visit his blog) was asked:

“Why do you think out of every group of people Black Females receive the biggest bashing, may it be from each other, other people, media, etc.”

He answered by saying:

“I believe that the media constantly tries to keep the image of whites at a maximum high, and in order to do so they put down other ethnic groups in order to elevate themselves. What it all boils down to, in my honest opinion is that white people/girls/guys find black people intimidating – intimidating in the sense that they ARE suitable competition. Black women are beautiful, and I feel like white people need to say otherwise just so they don’t lose the number one spot. That’s just my “conspiracy theory”, but I also think that black people are highly misunderstood which is another reason for bashing”

I found it interesting that after hearing that two other males who are not of African Descent told me the same exact thing basically. So could this “Conspiracy theory” be true? Well lets take a step back and look at all the other races besides people of European Descent:

Latin People:

  1. Females are often portrayed as “easy” and are always pregnant
  2. Males are often portrayed as cholos.
  3. Often looked at as poor people who work as nanny’s, janitors, gardeners.
  4. Often can not speak English/Correct English
  5. Are Illegal immigrants

Asian People:

  1. Females often portrayed as submissive and weak
  2. Males often portrayed as super nerdy, asexual, and lacking a social life
  3. Often thought they can all preform Martial Arts
  4. Often can not speak English Correctly
  5. Either are CEOs or Own Chinese restaurants/Nail salons.

So there you have it people… Black people aren’t the only types of people who get a bad reputation. So perhaps the “Conspiracy Theory” of Mr. Falco was correct. Perhaps there is some jealousy from the powers that be. Of course there are multiple people who live up to stereotypes but I would like to point out:

  1. Most to all of the Latin and Asian people I know of Speak Correct English.
  2. Most to all of the Latin people I know are legal in the United States of America, and most were born here.
  3. Only one of my Asian friend’s parents owned a Chinese restaurant.

I could go on and on, but I am sure you get the point. At the end of the day we all can believe what we want to believe, but I already know about how I feel about this topic. I will not push my views onto you, I only wrote this so maybe you could expand your thoughts. The last thing  that I said we would go over is how to end the Bashing of Black women, so lets hop on that. I personally think to end this bashing we Black women have to take the time to stop falling into this negative stereo types, and stop supporting females who do fall into these stereotypes. Stop complaining, and be the change you want to see. If you have any other ideas how we can put an end to this lets discuss them in the comments.

“The woman, the mother is the foundation of everything.       

Without her there is nothing, no life, no love, no progress.” 

- Dreama

About Hushed Cacophony

Desdemona - DES-DE-MO-NA - A Self proclaimed Beauty; Globally Known Misunderstood Mastermind; To Some people she is multiple people; Poet; Actress; Model; Teacher; Dancer; Honest to The Point Of Mental Harm; Dangerous. View all posts by Hushed Cacophony

5 responses to “Black Women Bashing

  • Kenji

    you know, you made a very good point about ghetto whites not getting the burning end of the rope when THEY act ghetto, but black people do and everyone suddenly wants to believe that ALL white people do that.

    I also totally agree with Falco on the part about white people putting down blacks because they ARE fierce competition on all levels. You see, I think it has been the white man’s conspiracy since they first took to the oceans in search of more land and resources. every non-white population they came in contact with they suppressed because THEY were too ignorant to understand nativity that was actually far more ADVANCED than their “modern” society. Since the origin of these moments of contact with native non-whites, you already see their disdain for the superiority of others and the fear of competition AND the fact that they are always unsatisfied unless they have everything for themselves. By this I mean: capture the natives, take their resources. The irony is that asia, middle east, africa, south America were not the ones to set out for a very significant reason: THEY were SATISFIED with their resources, and what they didn’t have, i’m sure they compensated for. But it was the white man who played the “hero” acting like it was up to THEM to civilize the natives, aka subjugate and steal their goods.

    this is what they did to not only blacks, but black women in particular. The moment Europeans set foot on Africa and witnessed the natives in their “scantily” clad garments, they were immediately curious about their sexuality, namely the women. It was this first impression that i believe started it all in regards to the many ways white America has manipulated the image of black woman. Because of that initial impression, we were no longer viewed as beings but sex ITEMS, breeding TOOLS, barely women. They preserved the image through out slavery by starkly contrasted the way they allowed the slave women to dress in comparison to the white woman. The projected the idea that while slave women hardly wore “decent” clothes at all, the white woman was conservatively dressed and their for civilized and innocent.

    As far as the loud talking and attitude, well that’s relative isn’t it. Depends on the context of the situation cause ANYONE can be that way. I personally think black women are this way not out of hostility of “ghetto-ness” but out of self defense. It is a guard against the constant hammering down. This was the original intent I believe, but those who still perpetuate what is now the “stereotype” don’t understand black women themselves. Which means they don’t understand themselves. which then taps into a psychological issue. if these so called loud aggressive black women are always on the defense, do THEY know why they have an attitude? do THEY know their inevitable responsibility of representing a whole? and lastly, do they know the history of black women in America? I think by knowing and understanding the black woman and her struggle, they will rethink their behavior. In order to change this negative perception of black women, it has to work from the inside out.

    I love your article and sorry if my rambled or got off topic xD I don’t really have time to organize it xD

  • Kenji

    that all black people do that*

  • Renanoodle~

    YES. FINALLY someone who realizes the stupid stigma that ALL black women face. But as Kenji stated, EVERYONE has their own people in their race that Embarrasses them to an extent AND preaches the stereotypes. But hey, there are also some that break those stereotypes. I will give you an example. Unforunately me..lol.
    As you know, I grow/grew up in the state of North Carolina, a ways in the south. And I knew for certain when I was in Fifth Grade I was more different than most black girls in my grade. I didn’t talk to them as much, or adapt to the things they liked. The only person that I saw that could really do it is my younger sister. She made alot of friends with black girls, I didn’t.
    Moving on to Middle school, the stigmas grew and things began to progress from the bad to worse. My sister hung with some of the ghetto girls of the school, and when I even TRIED to talk to my sister, they mean-mugged the hell out of me because of how different I was. I didn’t wear make-up, I didn’t wear weave (Niether did my sister.). Our clothes came from JC-Penny, and Dillards, not Coogi or Apple-Bottom. (We were all flat chested boys back then for Apple bottom lmfao..).
    Me and my Sister were still close together as family, but on a school environment we were our seperate ways. We would socialize at school, but not around our friends since we were in two different environments. I was with the band/anime geeks, and she was with the popular people. Its kinda funny though because Im the older sister. But, hey I felt comfortable with them, and I was happy during Middle school. But alas, High school, and puberty reared its ugly head when I was a freshman in high school.
    Me and my sister had stuck to our respective sports, I played soccer and studied Kendo. My sister did Track and Basketball. And the rift began to grow more between us as we went to our first High school and predominately white one. And there was only a pocket of black people, and maybe two or three Asian people at the max. It was pretty much a really crappy ratio. But hey, we went to our respective groups. The stigmas began to worsen because I remember all the snide remarks and their hateful comments.
    “Oooh, she’s not one of us. She’s just a wannabe white girl.”
    “HEY! What you’re trying to do Ren?! You tryin’ to be white?”
    Now, keep in mind Im only a Freshman and, the only black girl in the AP an Honor’s classes. And for me, its almost baffling WHY is it so wrong to want to have a good life and to succeed? But, I ignored it and continued on my own way because hey. It was only a pocketful of black people, and unfortunately some that I call family. Namely a cousin who was the same age as me, but Im 4 months older than she is, and went to the same school.
    And hell REALLY was loose when I dated my former boyfriend, he was viet named Justin. A really sweet guy, but as Kenji and Desi said. The media had came and of course influenced people. Namely, his older brother and father; I had met his mother with him, and I had proved that I was not Loud. Obnoxious and well different, but well more pleasant and not like an ass shaker etc. But, because Justin caved under pressure, we broke up. And, we are not speaking to one another because of such a thing.

    So my thing is, why does it take the fact that we have to be “white” that we want to succeed? Hmm? I mean, sure I can sink back into ghetto slums and become some random assed hoodrat, who has a bunch of kids. Parties, drinks and smokes. But why? It would go against every single moral and value that my parents instilled in me and my Sister. Its not about a black woman ACTING white to want to succeed. Its our own WILL AND DESIRE to want to break the mold that society wants us to be within. I mean honestly, for some of those who chooses to feign this ignorance and be loud obnoxious and overall stupid.
    Stop, take a look around, everybody know’s what’s goin’ down .
    I mean, its NOT cute to be ignorant. It isn’t at all, from what I see men of ALL races find that an intelligent woman is very beautiful. And one who betters herself and has the self esteem to be HERSELF, and not be a sex symbol, or some type of stigma that we are pegged as. They are truly the beautiful. Not this Video-Hoe nonsensical bullshit. None of it. (Forgive me of my language, Im pretty fired up about this and enjoying this topic.)

    So, if I had the Mic in my hand. And had the opportunity to actually tell our ones that embrace the stigma in open arms. You need to think about it like Kenji says. The black women who struggled for justice, social and racial equality would be turning in their graves. We really have to pick up ourselves and try and be what we wanna be. Whether it is to be a business woman. Or be the next super model. WHATEVER our hearts desire, we should try and be ourselves. Not the ass shaking, loud obnoxious video-hoes or women. We should just be the strong black WOMEN that Madame CJ Walker, Mary McLeod Bethune wanted us to be in this world.
    So Imma drop the mic, and basically say. Just be yourself. Don’t be a stigma. Just be you and succeed in life where other wants you to fail. Dance on the air of success and the jealousy of haters and the ones you proved wrong. And you’ll have a happy and peaceful life.

    –Renanoodle out.

    • Renanoodle~

      chooses to feign this ignorance and be loud obnoxious and overall stupid.
      Stop, take a look around, everybody know’s what’s goin’ down .
      I mean, its NOT cute to be ignorant. It isn’t at all, from what I see men of ALL races find that an intelligent woman is very beautiful. And one who betters herself and has the self esteem to be HERSELF, and not be a sex symbol, or some type of stigma that we are pegged as. They are truly the beautiful. Not this Video-Hoe nonsensical bullshit. None of it. (Forgive me of my language, Im pretty fired up about this and enjoying this topic.)
      So, if I had the Mic in my hand. And had the opportunity to actually tell our ones that embrace the stigma in open arms. You need to think about it like Kenji says. The black women who struggled for justice, social and racial equality would be turning in their graves. We really have to pick up ourselves and try and be what we wanna be. Whether it is to be a business woman. Or be the next super model. WHATEVER our hearts desire, we should try and be ourselves. Not the ass shaking, loud obnoxious video-hoes or women. We should just be the strong black WOMEN that Madame CJ Walker, Mary McLeod Bethune wanted us to be in this world.
      So Imma drop the mic, and basically say. Just be yourself. Don’t be a stigma. Just be you and succeed in life where other wants you to fail. Dance on the air of success and the jealousy of haters and the ones you proved wrong. And you’ll have a happy and peaceful life.
      –Renanoodle out.

  • Kenji

    Wow Renanoodle, we went through the same accusations of being “white washed” growing up and you made some VERY relevant points with the example you provided.

    “And for me, its almost baffling WHY is it so wrong to want to have a good life and to succeed?”

    exactly, and those who called you out on this obviously THEY were the white washed ones and not you because it is THEY that believe only whites are successful and educated. Ah the irony :}

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

